Scholarships Available

The Emily Fenichel Memorial Scholarship

The Emily Fenichel Memorial Scholarship is awarded in memory and honor of Emily Fenichel’s 30 years of service to the infant-family field through her work at ZERO TO THREE. Among Emily’s many roles, she was the editor of the ZERO TO THREE Journal, was editor-in-chief of the ZERO TO THREE Press, and was one of the first coordinators of the former National Training Institute (NTI) that is now the Annual Conference.

Her vision and commitment were instrumental in establishing the NTI as the premier conference for the infant-family field, and her love for and dedication to babies and families is remembered with respect and gratitude.

Applications will be accepted through September 22, 2021.

The Wales Brown Memorial Scholarship

The Wales Brown Memorial Scholarship is awarded by the National Parenting Education Network (NPEN) in memory and honor of Wales Brown’s dedication to helping parents build stronger, healthier connections with their children.

Wales developed and implemented collaborative programs focusing on in-home preservation, parent education, fatherhood, and reunification of families with a history of abuse and neglect. His ability to connect with parents and children of varying backgrounds, and his immense knowledge, focus, and dedication led him to state and national recognition in his field. Being awarded the prestigious ZERO TO THREE Fellowship (Class of 2014-2016) was a shining example of Wales’ accomplishments and his desire to always strive to expand his knowledge and influence as a leader in his profession.

The Wales Brown Memorial Scholarship will be awarded by NPEN to a frontline parenting educator who is seeking professional development, access to the latest research, and connection to others in the field.

The scholarship will cover the full conference fee. The scholarship will also include a one-year membership in NPEN (if the scholarship recipient is already an NPEN member, this benefit can be used for the following year’s renewal). The scholarship will be awarded based upon the applicant’s articulated need and expressed capacity to fully utilize the Annual Conference experience. While not required, a focus on fatherhood or service to at-risk populations will be viewed as a desirable addition to the applicant’s professional interests. Each application will be scored by a minimum of three reviewers.

The scholarship application deadline is September 1, 2021.